Defence Scientists Receive International Awards

< BACK TO DEFENCE starstarstarstarstar   Government - Defence Press Release
29th October 2010, 01:01pm - Views: 780

Misc Miscellaneous Defence Public Affairs 1 image

Misc Miscellaneous Defence Public Affairs 2 image


Minister for Defence Science and Personnel

Fri, 29 Oct, 2010




Minister for Defence Science and Personnel, Warren Snowdon, has today presented

international awards to 13 Australian defence scientists whose research has

significantly enhanced Defence capabilities.

The awards are presented annually under the auspices of The Technical

Cooperation Program (TTCP) which brings together defence scientists from the USA,

UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand to collaborate on technology development.  

Presenting the 2010 TTCP Awards at the Defence Science and Technology

Organisation (DSTO) in Melbourne today, Mr Snowdon said the achievements are

testament to Australia’s contribution to international scientific excellence.

“I congratulate these outstanding researchers for providing outstanding scientific

support to improve the effectiveness of the Defence forces,” Mr Snowdon said.

“In particular, may I congratulate Loris Molent for winning the 2010 Minister’s Award

for Achievement in Defence Science for his work on developing solutions to

determine the fatigue life of aircraft and their structural components for the past 26


“Loris has also undertaken significant research in fatigue crack growth in metallic

materials, and in his career has published more than 100 DSTO scientific reports, 30

papers in scientific journals and publications and 40 conference papers,” he said. 

“The TTCP is Australia’s most important multi-lateral agreement in defence science,

and DSTO contributes to over 60 technology areas.

“While these awards are also made to defence scientists in other countries, it is

important we honour the varied scientific excellence that originates in Australia,

contributing to capable defence forces in member nations,” Mr Snowdon said.  

Details of the winners are below. 

Media contacts:

Alice Plate (Mr Snowdon)

     02 6277 7820

Steve D’Arcy (DSTO)                        03 9626 7133 of 0419 991 909

Defence Media Liaison

02 6265 3343 or 0408 498 664


Misc Miscellaneous Defence Public Affairs 3 image

2010 TTCP Award recipients

Detail of award

Dr Shari Soutberg, Dr John O’Neill, Dr

Paul Gaertner and Ms Thea Clarke

For the innovative application of systems

engineering to support operations and

Defence acquisition

Dr Bruce Hinton, Mr Peter Trathen, Dr

Grant McAdam and Dr Alan Wilson

For developing predictive sensors

designed to monitor the structural health

of military aircraft

Dr Geoff Hugo and Dr Cayt Harding

For developing methods to measure the

reliability of non-destructive inspections

of structural defects in Defence platforms

Dr Arthur Provatas

For developing environmental tolerance

values for the sustainable management

of Defence sites contaminated by

munitions and propellants

Dr Scott Moss

For significant advances in the

exploitation of novel alloy technologies

for Defence applications

Colonel Peter Murphy

For 20 years of research leadership in

military human resource issues including

survival psychology

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article