Light Horse Veterans To Honour Their Forebears At Beersheba

< BACK TO GOVERNMENTS starstarstarstarstar   Government - Governments Press Release
12th April 2008, 09:01am - Views: 1024

Government Government Minister For Veterans' Affairs 1 image

The Hon Alan Griffin MP

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs


Saturday, 12 April 2008 


Seven World War II veterans who served in Australian light horse units will attend the dedication of a

memorial to the light horse in Be’er-Sheva, Israel, on 28 April, the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Alan

Griffin, announced today. 

Mr Griffin, who will be joining the veterans for the dedication, said they would be travelling as guests of

the Australian Government.

“The 4th and 12th Light Horse successfully charged the Turkish defenders at Beersheba to take the

town on 31 October 1917, a famous action which turned the tide of the Palestine campaign in the First

World War,” Mr Griffin said. 

A key feature of the memorial is a sculpture by Australian sculptor Peter Corlett of a mounted light

horseman in full flight as he leaps the trenches during the charge at Beersheba (now called Be'er-

Sheva).  It will be dedicated during a memorial service conducted by the Australian Government.

The memorial is the centrepiece of the Park of the Australian Soldier, an initiative of Australia’s Pratt

Foundation to recognise the contribution of Australian service personnel in the Middle East in the First

and Second World Wars and subsequent peace operations. The Park will be dedicated by the Governor-

General, His Excellency Major General Michael Jeffery, and the President of Israel, Shimon Peres, on

April 28.

“The light horse is legendary in Australia and a mission party of Second World War light horsemen is an

appropriate way to honour the light horse at the dedication of this memorial.”

The members of the party are:




Mr Ernest (Bob) Archer

6th Light Horse

Orange, NSW

Mr Ronald (Ron) Hatch

10th Light Horse

Lesmurdie, WA

Mr Douglas (Doug) Lade

20th Light Horse

Highlands via

Seymour, VIC

Mr Edward (Ted) Mulligan OAM

12th Light Horse

Guyra, NSW

Mr Eric Nunn

6th Light Horse

Orange, NSW

Mr Dale Robertson

2nd Light Horse

Peakhurst, NSW

Mr John Stuart

10th Light Horse

Merriwa, WA

NOTE:  Biographies of the veterans are available on request.


Minister for Veterans’ Affairs: Laura Ryan 0437 863 109

Department of Veterans’ Affairs: Lachlan Leslie 0420 962 506

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article